Centre for Law and Democracy Logo

Hong Kong: Joint Statement Calling for Canadian Government Action

15 October 2020.

CLD joins with community leaders, over 50 other Canadian civil society groups and over 50 parliamentarians in calling for Canadian government action to sanction Chinese and Hong Kong officials and protect Hong Kongers at risk of political persecution. The statement is as follows:

Joint statement calling for sanctioning of Chinese and Hong Kong officials and protection for Hong Kongers at risk of political persecution

We, the undersigned, call upon the Government of Canada to take action in light of the mass arrests and assault on civil rights following the unilateral imposition of the new National Security Law in Hong Kong. Many in Hong Kong fear they will face the same fate as the student protestors in Tiananmen Square, defenders’ lawyers, and millions of interned Uyghurs, Tibetans, and faith groups whose rights of free expression and worship are denied.

We urge the Government of Canada to offer a “Safe Harbour Program” with an expedited process to grant protection and permanent residency status to HongKongers at risk of political persecution under the National Security Law, including international students and expatriate workers who have been involved in protest actions in Canada.

Furthermore, Canada must invoke the Sergei Magnitsky Law to sanction Chinese and Hong Kong officials who instituted the National Security Law, as well as other acts violating human rights; and to ban them and their immediate family members from Canada and freeze their Canadian assets.

Canada needs to work closely with international allies with shared values to institute a strong policy toward China. It is time for Canada to take meaningful action to show leadership on the world stage.


Civil society organizations
Action Free Hong Kong Montreal
Canada-Hong Kong Link
Canada Tibet Committee
Canadian Centre for Victims of Torture
Canadian Friends of Hong Kong
Canadian Journalists for Free Expression
Centre for Law and Democracy
Democracy & Human Rights for China
Democratic Party of China, Canada Committee
East Turkistan Association of Canada
FAPA Canada
Federation for a Democratic China
Friends of Canada India Organization
Friends of Hong Kong Calgary
Global Pinoy Diaspora Canada
Gurukul Cultural Society
Halifax Hong Kong Link
International Support for Uyghurs
McMaster Stands with HK
Movement for Democracy in China (Calgary)
Mustard Seeds Hong Kong Concern Group
One Free World International
Ontario Universities Hong Kong Awareness Group
Ottawa Post-Secondary Institutions’ Hong Kong Awareness Group
Ottawan Stand With Hong Kong
PEN Canada
Raoul Wallenberg Centre for Human Rights
Regional Tibetan Youth Congress Toronto
Saskatchewan Stands with Hong Kong
SFU HK Awareness & Action Group
Southern Mongolian Human Rights Information Center
Students for a Free Tibet
Taiwanese Canadian Association of Toronto
Taiwanese Human Rights Association of Canada
Toronto Association for Democracy in China
Toronto Falun Gong Human Rights Group
Torontonian HongKongers Action Group
University of Calgary Hong Kong Concern
University of Manitoba Hong Kong Concern
University of Toronto Hong Kong Extradition Law Awareness Group
Uyghur Refugee Relief Fund
Uyghur Rights Advocacy Project
Vancouver Hong Kong Political Activists
Vancouverites Concerned About Hong Kong
Vancouverites Stand with Righteousness
Vancouver Society in Support of Democratic Movement
Vancouver Society of Freedom
Vancouver Uyghur Association
Victoria BC Hong Konger
Viet Tan
Waterloo Lion Rock Spirit
Winnipeg Hong Kong Concern
World Press Freedom Canada
World United Formosans for Independence Canada Chapter
York University Hong Kong Politics Awareness Group

Community Leaders
Charles Burton, Senior Fellow, Macdonald-Laurier Institute
Marcus Kolga, President of the Central and Eastern European Council in Canada
Amita Kuttner, Green Party activist
Joe Tay, Hong Kong actor and singer in exile
Rukiye Turdush, independent researcher and human rights activist

Ziad Aboultaif, Member of Parliament
Scott Aitchison, Member of Parliament
Hon. Denise Batters Q.C., Senator
Kelly Block, Member of Parliament
Alexandre Boulerice, Member of Parliament
John Brassard, Member of Parliament
Colin Carrie, Member of Parliament
Kenny Chiu, Member of Parliament
Laurel Collins, Member of Parliament
Hon. Consiglio DiNino, former Senator
Kerry Diotte, Member of Parliament
Scott Duvall, Member of Parliament
Dave Epp, Member of Parliament
Nathaniel Erskine-Smith, Member of Parliament
Hon. Kerry-Lynne D. Findlay, Member of Parliament
Hon. Linda Frum, Senator
Hon. Dr. Hedy Fry, Member of Parliament
Leah Gazan, Member of Parliament
Randall Garrison, Member of Parliament
Hon. Stephen Greene, Senator
Jasraj Singh Hallan, Member of Parliament
Jack Harris, Member of Parliament
Hon. Leo Housakos, Senator
Carol Hughes, Member of Parliament
Hon. Peter Kent, Member of Parliament
Tom Kmiec, Member of Parliament
Michael Kram, Member of Parliament
Damien Kurek, Member of Parliament
Jenny Kwan, Member of Parliament
Hon. Frances Lankin, Senator
Philip Lawrence, Member of Parliament
Hon. Michael MacDonald, Senator
Paul Manly, Member of Parliament
Hon. Elizabeth Marshall, Senator
Lindsay Mathyssen, Member of Parliament
Elizabeth May, Member of Parliament
Kelly McCauley, Member of Parliament
Phil McColeman, Member of Parliament
Hon. John McKay, Member of Parliament
Hon. Marilou McPhedran, Senator
Heather McPherson, Member of Parliament
Hon. Percy Mockler, Senator
Hon. Jim Munson, Senator
Hon. Thanh Hai Ngo, Senator
Hon. Dennis Patterson, Senator
Jeremy Patzer, Member of Parliament
Hon. Donald Plett, Senator
Yasmin Ratansi, Member of Parliament
Brad Redekopp, Member of Parliament
Hon. David Richards, Senator
Hon. Judy Sgro, Member of Parliament
Nelly Shin, Member of Parliament
Derek Sloan, Member of Parliament
Warren Steinley, Member of Parliament
David Sweet, Member of Parliament
Corey Tochor, Member of Parliament
Cathay Wagantall, Member of Parliament
Kevin Waugh, Member of Parliament

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.